Chocolate Iced Coffee

Anyone who knows me would say that my drink of choice is tea.  But dare I say that ever since grad school I have become quite partial to iced coffee. I guess I need that extra burst of caffeine to get me through the day.  Of course, I have to load it up with sugar to the max to make it tolerable, but it is definitely growing on me.  I can never bring myself to buy an iced coffee at Starbucks or Dunkin’ Donuts, however, when the craving strikes I luckily have this delicious recipe to fall back on.

Ingredients:
strong brewed coffee
chocolate soy milk
agave nectar
splash of (cow) milk
ice

I make my coffee in a french press, mostly because I hardly drink it so I can’t fathom buying a whole coffee machine.

Let it chill in the fridge for a bit, then pour into a glass with ice.  The secret ingredients that really make this a delicious glass of iced coffee are….

…chocolate soy milk and agave nectar!  Add however much you want of each.  The chocolate soy gives it a rich, chocolatey flavor while the agave nectar is a perfect sweetener.  It is sweeter than sugar so you don’t need as much, and it dissolves into cold drinks better.  I used about 1/4 cup of chocolate soy milk and 1 tsp of agave nectar.  I also thought it needed just a splash of regular cow milk to make it creamier with less of a strong coffee taste.

Enjoy!

*Don’t use soy milk in hot coffee.  The acidity of the black coffee acts as a coagulant with the soy and makes it curdle at the bottom of your cup.

Leave a Reply

